D|E

Frank Schaefer
*1966

Studying philosophy
in Freiburg und Stuttgart

2017 | Solo exhibition, Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei

29.4.-20.5.17

Spinnereistr. 7, 04179 Leipzig, Halle 14c

Tue-Fri: 11-18h / Sat: 10-16h

Presse

Art conception

Frank Schaefer, born in Ludwigsburg in 1966, studies philosophy in Freiburg and Stuttgart.


Familiar with the phenomenology and existential philosophy of the 20th century, as well as with modern poetry from Rainer Maria Rilke to Paul Celan, Frank Schaefer follows an artistic concept which at first glance appears to be simply a poetic examination of the modern everyday reality.

At the same time, like the Canadian art photographer Jeff Wall, he also prefers the uniqueness of the composition of a single frame, which he favours in his work in series
or in groups of works. A second look, however, soon reveals how intensely Frank Schaefer’s works grapple with the image as a surface for mental projection as a carrier for culturally meaningful symbols. Even the choice of the subjects of his images is consistently influenced by confrontation with the question of how images “function” as works of art, how reality is “staged” in and with images and how images manage to generate “sense” and “meaning”.

If you read his texts, the “metaphysics” of his approach, it quickly becomes clear that we are dealing with a philosophically knowledgeable art photographer here, whose work is carried by the conviction that the “source code” for the idealisation and identification strategies which the modern individual uses to build the design of their self-image and world view can be found in the works of contemporary art. The desire to explore, in the medium of photography and with the means of aphorism, the importance of and relationship between the modern image and the modern subject is a recurring theme in this work.

Alongside presentation of the photographic works in solo exhibitions, Frank Schaefer also documents his art project in an illustrated book which appears annually as an updated version. The edition of the photographs is limited to three copies (3 prints + 1 AP) per image. The photographs are only exhibited and offered for sale in the format sizes indicated in the illustrated book. All excerpts are developed exclusively in collaboration with the Grieger photographic laboratory in Düsseldorf.

Frank Schaefer, born in Ludwigsburg in 1966, studies philosophy in Freiburg and Stuttgart.


Familiar with the phenomenology and existential philosophy of the 20th century, as well as with modern poetry from Rainer Maria Rilke to Paul Celan, Frank Schaefer follows an artistic concept which at first glance appears to be simply a poetic examination of the modern everyday reality.

At the same time, like the Canadian art photographer Jeff Wall, he also prefers the uniqueness of the composition of a single frame, which he favours in his work in series
or in groups of works. A second look, however, soon reveals how intensely Frank Schaefer’s works grapple with the image as a surface for mental projection as a carrier for culturally meaningful symbols. Even the choice of the subjects of his images is consistently influenced by confrontation with the question of how images “function” as works of art, how reality is “staged” in and with images and how images manage to generate “sense” and “meaning”.

If you read his texts, the “metaphysics” of his approach, it quickly becomes clear that we are dealing with a philosophically knowledgeable art photographer here, whose work is carried by the conviction that the “source code” for the idealisation and identification strategies which the modern individual uses to build the design of their self-image and world view can be found in the works of contemporary art. The desire to explore, in the medium of photography and with the means of aphorism, the importance of and relationship between the modern image and the modern subject is a recurring theme in this work.

Alongside presentation of the photographic works in solo exhibitions, Frank Schaefer also documents his art project in an illustrated book which appears annually as an updated version. The edition of the photographs is limited to three copies (3 prints + 1 AP) per image. The photographs are only exhibited and offered for sale in the format sizes indicated in the illustrated book. All excerpts are developed exclusively in collaboration with the Grieger photographic laboratory in Düsseldorf.

Mehr lesen

Präsentationshalle
Böcklerstr. 35
70199 Stuttgart
> Google Maps

+49.162.265 41 15
info@frankschaefer-art.de

 

A selection of the photographic work can be seen in the presentation
hall please contact Sabine Maschinsky for an appointment.
Thank you very much!

D|E

Frank Schaefer
*1966

Philosophiestudium
in Freiburg und Stuttgart

2017 | Solo-Ausstellung, Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei

29.4.-20.5.17

Spinnereistr. 7, 04179 Leipzig, Halle 14c

Di-Fr: 11-18h / Sa: 10-16h

Presse

Kunstkonzeption

Frank Schaefer, 1966 in Ludwigsburg geboren, studierte Philosophie in Freiburg und Stuttgart.

Vertraut mit der Phänomenologie und Existenzphilosophie des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie mit der modernen Lyrik von Rainer Maria Rilke bis Paul Celan, verfolgt Frank Schaefer mit seinen großformatigen digitalen Fotografien eine Kunstkonzeption, die auf den ersten Blick einer poetischen Überprüfung der modernen Alltagswirklichkeit gleicht.

Dabei bevorzugt er wie der kanadische Fotokünstler Jeff Wall die Einmaligkeit der Komposition des Einzelbildes, die er der Arbeit in Serien oder in Werkgruppen vorzieht. Die Wahl seiner Bildsujets wird immer wieder von der Frage beeinflusst, wie Bilder als Kunstwerke „funktionieren“, wie in und mit Bildern Wirklichkeit „inszeniert“ wird und wie es Bildern gelingt, „Sinn“ und „Bedeutung“ zu generieren.

Liest man die Texte, in denen der Fotograf seine Arbeit als „Bildermacher“ reflektiert, wird sehr schnell klar, dass man es hier mit einem philosophisch bewanderten Fotokünstler zu tun hat, dessen Ansatz von der Überzeugung getragen wird, in den Bildwerken der zeitgenössischen Kunst die „Quellcodes“ der Idealisierungs- und Identifikationsstrategien zu finden, die das moderne Individuum für den Aufbau seiner Selbst- und Weltbildentwürfe nutzt. Mit den Mitteln der Fotografie und im philosophischen Aphorismus den Stellenwert und das Verhältnis von modernem Bild und modernem Subjekt zu ergründen, dieser Ansatz zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch dieses Werk.

Neben der Präsentation der fotografischen Arbeiten in ausgewählten Einzel-Ausstellungen, dokumentiert Frank Schaefer sein Kunstprojekt zudem in einem Bildband, der jährlich in aktualisierter Form erscheint. Die Edition der Fotografien ist auf drei Exemplare (3 Prints + 1 AP) pro Bildmotiv limitiert. Ausgestellt und zum Erwerb angeboten werden die Fotografien nur in den im Bildband angegebenen Formatgrößen. Alle Abzüge werden ausschließlich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotolabor Grieger, Düsseldorf erstellt.

Frank Schaefer, 1966 in Ludwigsburg geboren, studierte Philosophie in Freiburg und Stuttgart.

Vertraut mit der Phänomenologie und Existenzphilosophie des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie mit der modernen Lyrik von Rainer Maria Rilke bis Paul Celan, verfolgt Frank Schaefer mit seinen großformatigen digitalen Fotografien eine Kunstkonzeption, die auf den ersten Blick einer poetischen Überprüfung der modernen Alltagswirklichkeit gleicht.

Dabei bevorzugt er wie der kanadische Fotokünstler Jeff Wall die Einmaligkeit der Komposition des Einzelbildes, die er der Arbeit in Serien oder in Werkgruppen vorzieht. Die Wahl seiner Bildsujets wird immer wieder von der Frage beeinflusst, wie Bilder als Kunstwerke „funktionieren“, wie in und mit Bildern Wirklichkeit „inszeniert“ wird und wie es Bildern gelingt, „Sinn“ und „Bedeutung“ zu generieren.

Liest man die Texte, in denen der Fotograf seine Arbeit als „Bildermacher“ reflektiert, wird sehr schnell klar, dass man es hier mit einem philosophisch bewanderten Fotokünstler zu tun hat, dessen Ansatz von der Überzeugung getragen wird, in den Bildwerken der zeitgenössischen Kunst die „Quellcodes“ der Idealisierungs- und Identifikationsstrategien zu finden, die das moderne Individuum für den Aufbau seiner Selbst- und Weltbildentwürfe nutzt. Mit den Mitteln der Fotografie und im philosophischen Aphorismus den Stellenwert und das Verhältnis von modernem Bild und modernem Subjekt zu ergründen, dieser Ansatz zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch dieses Werk.

Neben der Präsentation der fotografischen Arbeiten in ausgewählten Einzel-Ausstellungen, dokumentiert Frank Schaefer sein Kunstprojekt zudem in einem Bildband, der jährlich in aktualisierter Form erscheint. Die Edition der Fotografien ist auf drei Exemplare (3 Prints + 1 AP) pro Bildmotiv limitiert. Ausgestellt und zum Erwerb angeboten werden die Fotografien nur in den im Bildband angegebenen Formatgrößen. Alle Abzüge werden ausschließlich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotolabor Grieger, Düsseldorf erstellt.

Mehr lesen

Präsentationshalle
Böcklerstr. 35
70199 Stuttgart
> Google Maps

+49.162.265 41 15
info@frankschaefer-art.de

 

Eine Auswahl fotografischer Arbeiten ist in der Präsentationshalle zu
besichtigen, bitte vereinbaren sie mit Sabine Maschinsky einen Termin.
Besten Dank!